First Ever State MTB Championship Held in Himachal

The state of Himachal Pradesh held its first ever State MTB Championship on 11 February 2021 at Potter Hill, Shimla under the organizing committee CAHP (Cycling Association of Himachal Pradesh). A total of 66 participants qualified from 8 districts through district level qualifying events and competed in the event. 

Present on the occasion were members of the organizing committee under the Presidency of Mr. Dinesh Malhotra (IAS) CAHP and Vice President Mr. Sanjay Sood (IFS). The Chief Guest on the occasion was Dr. Savita, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (Wildlife) who was the first woman principal of The Central Academy of State Forest Service and the first woman director of the Forest Research Institute located at Dehradun. She is also the member of the advisory board to CAHP. Mr. V.N. Singh, Director Cycling Association of India and National Elite Commissaire were also present at the occasion to supervise the event.   

The Championship constituted of two events ITT (Individual Time Trial) and mass start XCO (Cross Country Olympic). The trail led the participants through jeep road and single trail section in a loop around the lush green cedar and pine forest at Potter Hill in Summerhill, Shimla. 

Concluding the ceremony, Dr. Savita (PCCF) stated that she was inspired to ride a bike herself after the event gets over. She also announced that the forest department would help develop cycling trails proposed to the department in liaison with Cycling Association of Himachal Pradesh to uplift the sport and also to promote cycling among the masses.

Mr. V.N. Singh (CFI) also spoke on the occasion stating that it was a great experience and he was impressed by the efforts put in by CAHP to uplift and promote the sport among the youth. He also stated that the federation earlier only focused on road and track cycling and a couple of year back realized that there is lot of potential in this category as well. He further said that CFI would start 4 academies for Mountain Biking, out of which one would be setup at Shilaru, Distt. Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, India. 

Congratulations to all the participants, winners and all present at the event. Godspeed!

CategoryYoung Girls
1st Divija Sood
2nd Kyna Sood
3rdSherin Thakur
CategoryYoung Boys
1stAayan Dogra
2nd Vansh Kalia
3rdKunal Kumar
CategorySub Junior Boys
1stKrish Gupta
3rdSarpreet Singh
CategoryJunior Boys
1st Aryan Rajput
2nd Vivek Kaushal
3rdArush Upmanyu
CategoryU-23 Boys
1st Akash Sherpa
2nd Akshit Gaur
3rdJai Kumar Subba
CategoryElite Men
1st Hukum
2nd Gaurav Kumar
3rd Vikas Khimat
CategorySub Junior Girls
1stSanskriti Chauhan
Guest of Honor at the occasion Dr. Savita (PCCF) Wildlife
The dignitaries present for the 1st State MTB Championship
From Left; Akshit Gaur, Akash Sherpa and Jai Kumar Subba. Winner U-23 boys
From left; Kyna Sood, Divija Sood and Sherin Thakur. Winner youth girls. Congratulations
The cycling association of Bilaspur with the participants at the event
Mr. Sundorcha Sherpa father of the accomplished Sherpa brothers overlooks his son (Akash Sherpa) as he takes the podium

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.